Venomous Tongue Chapter 30

Title: What Should I Do?

I’ve never been interested in the student council.

What’s the point of raising my hand and participating? Do I want to bring attention to myself?

Anyways, the student council isn’t on my mind.

Do they think they can really change the school? Is the motivation to look good? The latter is deliberate and respectable, but honestly, the former is only a wistful dreamer.

Being the student body president doesn’t give any special power and privilege, nor does it give the ability to enact change. At most, it would only be some minor changes. You can’t escape from the teachers’ control and any attempt to do so will be stopped.

I’m curious to see how Tsuru would react if I tell her my thoughts. I don’t mean to be rude, but I’d like to know why she chose a committee that’s obviously a pain and something only show-offs would want to participate in.

My curiosity was unquenchable. Let’s just let it loose.

“Why’d you join the student council, Tsuru?”

“I was forced to run. They made me run for president. I didn’t want to do it, so I agreed to be the secretary. And as it turned out, I ended up as the secretary.”

“So you didn’t want to? I’m surprised.”

“People say that a lot. I think it’s silly to decide who is or isn’t fit to be in the student council based on their grades. What would happen if I were a psychopath and take pleasure in murder? It’s uncomfortable to be evaluated by a number. I want my heart to be seen more.”

I turned the conversation towards Arina.

“Arina. Do you want to run for the student council?”

“If I win, I’ll make a single country.”

“Like a dictator…”

“I’ll start by hanging you. I’ll draw the border with your blood.”

“Don’t try and scare me like that.”

I turned towards Tsuru.

“Back on topic. What does Tsuru want us to do?”

“I want you to take an executive role in the festival, mainly reporting on each club’s activities.”

Well, it’s that time of year after all. I just help out my class since I wasn’t in any clubs, so I’m essentiallyc the same as a customer. I can’t expect to get into the center of the project.

“Can’t you join the festival committee?”

“No, no. The student council and festival committee are independent. I have nothing to do with it so I want to get the help of Sui and Arina-san. I want you to do the things that are difficult for the student council to do.”

“I see. I can imagine it. What about Arina-sensei[1], who used to be in the student council?”

“I don’t mind.”

And with Arina’s consent, it means,

“We’ll help.”

“Wow! Thanks! Please treat me well!”

Tsuru held my left hand and Arina’s right hand and smiled.

This is going to be a pretty big request.


It was two days after Tsuru visited the Rose Garden.

Tsuru called out to me.

While I was having lunch with Makoto, Tsuru came and asked me to come to the student council with Arina after school.

Makoto, who was listening right next to me, asked, “Sui, what are you doing now? What are you going to do by sneaking into the student council?!”

He seemed to think that Arina and I were plotting something horrible, and he’s been concerned about me lately.

I appreciate his concern, but I want him to be reassured. I’m a gentleman, and I have a great sense of justice. Now for Arina— I don’t know.

After eating with Makoto, I went over to Arina’s class and told her about it. As usual, she replied with “I see”. She’s not the type to lie or break a promise, so I didn’t pester her for confirmation.

I turned around and my eyes met with Shirona’s.

Actually, I also liked Sui—

The words from that moment came back to me. I don’t know how many seconds passed. My body froze up and went as rigid as lead.

What do I do, what do I say? I told myself that, and something started to come out of my throat, but I quickly stopped it from coming out.

“Hey, you. How long are you gonna be a statue?”

Arina’s words jolted me back to reality.

“It’s nothing. After school.”

It’s no good. It’s awkward. I don’t have the confidence to talk to Shirona. I haven’t spoken to her since then.

I’m trying to take steps forward due to my impatience. However, I don’t know what to say.

What should I do?


Notes:

[1] No, this isn’t a typo

6 thoughts on “Venomous Tongue Chapter 30

  1. He either needs to fall in love, (I doubt, all signs point to Arina being love interest) or he needs to confess he just said it on the spur of the moment.
    Thanks for the nice chapter!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started