I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 21

Title: Our FIrst ____

After that, they rode the Ferris wheel and sat opposite to each other.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve been on a Ferris wheel.”

Asahi said, as they climbed up a bit more.

“Yeah. I haven’t ridden one since we got on one with your mom.”

“I think it’s the same for me, too. Does that mean that Yuuto hasn’t been to an amusement park since then?”

“Yeah. I’ve gone a few times for school activities, but this is only the second time I’ve come with my family and friends.”

“That’s right. I mean, Yuuto, you don’t really hang out with anyone but me, do you?”

“…Well, yeah. I’m sorry, I don’t have many friends.”

Yuuto said that to himself.

“You say that, but you and Morikawa-kun are good friends. Wouldn’t it be nice to invite Morikawa-kun to hang out every once and a while?”

“Well, yeah. I had some fun over the holidays, and I’ll invite him out next time. Like this time, I might invite you and Fujimiya-san again.”

“Yeah, that’s totally fine. I had a great time over the holidays too, so let’s go somewhere else this time around, maybe even over the summer holidays.”

“Yeah, sure.”

That’s how they spent a little time reminiscing about this holiday.

“So, Asahi. This is a different subject, but what do you want to say to me? Now that we’re done reminiscing, isn’t it about time you told me?”

“…Well, yeah. I guess so.”

Asahi replied.

“But where exactly do I start? There’s so much to say, I don’t know where to start.”

“There’s that much? I’m a little afraid to listen when you put it that way. Well, just say one thing at a time. We have plenty of time.”

“Yeah. Okay, then, Yuuto.”

“What?”

“…Yuuto, do you still care about my mom?”

“Don’t start off so fast.”

“I’m sorry. But it’s important, so I hope you’ll tell me honestly about how you feel.”

“Well, I care about it. I think I’ll be thinking about this for the rest of my life.”

“Well, yeah.”

Asahi choked on her words for a moment as she said this.

“Then why doesn’t Yuuto answer my feelings? Is it because you haven’t settled that issue yet?”

“Maybe that’s what you want to hear?”

“Yeah. And I’m sorry. I wasn’t going to make a move until Yuuto confessed to me. But if this is the case, it’s unlikely that you’ll ever confess your feelings to me.”

“…Well, I’m really sorry about that. I’m sorry.”

“No, you don’t have to apologize. Besides, I’m the one who’s sorry. We were having a great time, and now we have to talk about this.”

“No, it’s my fault. I’m sorry. You’ve been waiting for years.”

Yuuto apologized back to Asahi.

“I’m not confessing to it, and it’s partly because I haven’t been able to get that thing out of my system, but it’s not the only thing.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“I don’t want to say anything about it because I’m sorry, but I’m ashamed and feel pathetic about it.”

Yuuto slurred his words.

“So… you don’t want to say.”

“Yeah, I’m sorry.”

“No, it can’t be helped. You can’t do anything about it, because there are things that I can’t say even to you, Yuuto. But I don’t think you should pull back now. That’s why I’m going to use my request from before right here.”

“Right?”

“Un. You said you’d listen to one of my requests in return for me making you bento. So let me hear that story, which you’re too embarrassed to say, right here and now.”

Asahi was more serious than ever.

“You’ve been really pushy and selfish today, haven’t you?”

Yuuto said that with a little laugh and in a dumbfounded tone.

“Hehe, don’t praise me.”

“I’m not praising you… but I did promise that, so I don’t blame you. Honestly, it’s a crappy and boring story, but bear with me.”

“Yeah, of course. You’re my childhood friend. I’ll listen to the end.”

“Thank you, Asahi.”

As Yuuto said this, he began to speak quietly as the sunset shone through the window.

“I’m not going to confess to you because I don’t have the confidence to do so.”

“Really? Why?”

“It’s hard to say what. I mean to me… you’ve grown up a lot over the past few years. You’ve become brighter, prettier, and I honestly think it’s amazing?”

“Eh? Hehe, is that right?”

“Yeah. Except your height and chest.”

“Mmm, why’d you have to add that?”

“Haha, sorry. But what about me? I’m not bright or particularly talented, I’m just some kind of mob character. A guy like that isn’t really a good match for you.”

“…Could that be the reason why Yuuto hasn’t confessed to me?”

“Yeah. You’ve been growing up, but I haven’t changed a bit in the last few years. When I think about it, I feel sorry for myself. If I confessed to you with such an inferiority complex, and even if I did go out with you, it would get ruined eventually.”

“Is that why Yuuto won’t confess to me?”

“Ah, sorry for it being such a selfish and pathetic reason… perhaps you’re disappointed?”

“Maybe a little. But I thought I was more disappointing.”

“Disappointing?”

“Yeah. I tried to talk to a lot of people because I wanted to be as good as possible to Yuuto, so I tried my best to dress up. But I feel a little bit empty if that effort has deprived you of your confidence.”

Asahi forced a laugh as she said this.

“Hey, Asahi. Did you just say that you made an effort to stand out to me?”

“Yeah. I mean, there’s no other reason for me to try my best. Even right now, I was trying to get Yuuto to confess your feeligns to me, and I was appealing to you in various ways… In the end, it didn’t seem like you were going to confess, so I did this.”

“I’m sorry about that… but I see. You’ve been working hard on a lot of things that I didn’t know about it.”

“Yeah. But it wasn’t bad. I’m willing to work as hard as I can for someone I love.”

“So you can do your best for someone you love…”

Yuuto muttered and was silent for a while… and then,

“Hey, Asahi. I’m sorry you’ve been waiting for me all this time. Can you listen to my request?”

“…I’ll hear you out. Whether or not I’m okay with it depends on what you’re going to say.”

“Thank you, Asahi.”

Yuuto said that and cut off his words.

“I’m sorry, Asahi, but I can’t confess to you right now. But I’ll do my best to build up my confidence and confess to you by the end of the year. Just stay in this relationship for a little while longer.”

Yuuto said and bowed his head on the spot.

“…Well, you don’t have to bow. I didn’t set a deadline either, so this is just my own selfishness. But Yuuto, after waiting this long, I can’t honestly believe that.”

“Well, I guess that’s fair.”

“Yeah. But if you’re serious about it, give me proof right here. Then I’ll trust you and wait a bit longer.”

“Proof?”

“Yeah, I failed last time, but I don’t have to worry about anyone interrupting me here. So this time, kiss me.”

Asahi said with a serious expression.

“Are you sure? Really..”

“It’s fine, of course. I like Yuuto, and if you confess to me, I’ll definitely say yes. Or are you not confident enough to keep your word, so you can’t do it?”

“…That’s not it. I’ve said it, so I’ll definitely keep my word.”

With that, Yuuto stood up and quietly placed his hands on Asahi’s shoulders.”

“Ah, Yuuto.”

Asahi looked embarrassed and turned away slightly.

“….N!”

Immediately making up her mind, Asahi closed both eyes and silently stuck out her lips.

“…”

Little by little, Yuuto moved his face closer to Asahi. Taking after Asahi, Yuuto closed his eyes as well.

“…-u-n.”

For just a moment, slightly but surely, their lips met each other’s, and they felt the breath of their beloved.

And just like that, for a little while, they didn’t move. Then, slowly, Yuuto parted his lips. Asahi opened her eyes.”

“Fufu, we kissed.”

She said with a shy smile.

“Yeah… and we’re not even dating.”

“We’re going to be together by the end of the year, so there’s nothing wrong with that. Also, this is my first kiss, so don’t make it a bittersweet memory.”

“Yeah, I know.”

They had such an exchange. They spent the rest of the time in peace and quiet. They watched the sunset and view outside, where people were slowly going home.

The distance between them hadn’t changed over the years. But today, they moved forward a little bit. Just a little bit, but definitely.


T/N: To be honest, Yuuto’s character infuriated me this chapter. Giving you guys a heads up, I’m thinking about shelving this and focusing on Seatmate and Venomous Tongue.

5 thoughts on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 21

  1. Mmhm thanks for the chapter~ Well the strange headpats will be missed, but your work after all Adiue. Keep up the good work regardless of whatever may happen though~

    Like

  2. Damn, this MC is such a pussy, and i feel so bad for Asahi. I won’t be surprised if suddenly within the year Asahi asks MC to have sex with her then MC will be like, “No, please wait, i still don’t have the confidence… can you please wait for like 100 years?”. Honestly, he’s effing leading her on only for his fcking self satisfaction.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks for translating the novel this far. Like you though, I’ve really run out of patience with the MC.
    I can’t sympathize with him at all. The author STILL hasn’t explained the mother thing at all and the ‘hints’ so far are awfully written, so I don’t know what his issue is, and so I’ve stopped caring.
    At this point I can only really say Asahi deserves better than this guy who selfishly keeps stringing her along.
    Again, thanks for the translation, but this story is going in the bin. XD

    Like

  4. Asahi deserves better, MC is shit gdi. Author keeps on hinting stuff about the Mother but still doesn’t clear up sh*t. Especially in hearing his reason as to why? That’s some fcked up stuff without more basis. Like he lost confidence because of Event A making him become like that.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started