I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 19

Title: Amusement Park

it was the fourth day of Golden Week, and today we were at the amusement park with the same four people as yesterday. Yuuto and Asahi were now walking side by side, together were Asahi.

It was early on when Suzuka said,

“I want to go to the haunted house here, rumor has it that it’s the scariest place around.”

However, Asahi rejected her proposal at all costs. As a result, they decided to split into two groups.

Yuuto was going to go with Asahi and Hiroki was going with Suzuka. And unlike Suzuka, who had her own destination in mind, Yuuto and Asahi didn’t have a particular attraction they wanted to visit. They were walking leisurely through the amusement park, avoiding people who might accidentally bump into them.

“Oh, Yuuto, why don’t we go for a ride?”

Then Asahi pointed to a ride with several giant cups spinning around.

“Sure. Nothing wrong with that, but we’ll have to wait in line for a bit.”

Yuuto looked at the line of about ten pairs of people in front of the attraction.

“With a place like this, waiting is one of the best parts. Besides, with only five cups, we’ll probably be on by the third lap or so.”

“Come to think of it, we won’t have to wait that long. Let’s get in line before other people get there.”

“Yeah, let’s go!”

So they lined up at the end of the line. They spent a little while chatting, and in no time at all, the line moved forward and it was their turn. They paid the fee and sat down in a cup together, facing each other.

“Hey, Yuuto, let’s turn the wheel together.”

“…Guess I have no choice.”

Yuuto grabbed the handle that was in the center. Asahi followed suit and grabbed the handle from the other side.

And slowly, the cup with the two of them in it began to turn.

“Oh, this is so much fun.”

Asahi said that with a twinkle in his eye.

“Come on, let’s turn the wheel.”

“Yeah.”

Asahi began to rotate the handle a bit, so Yuuto too moved his hands to match Asahi.

“Wow, that went fast!”

“That’s just the way it is.”

Asahi said happily, feeling the spinning of the cup.

“But we’re still going pretty slow. I think we can go faster.”

“No, wait, Asahi, that’s probably a bad idea. Just chill out.”

“What, are you scared, Yuuto? Don’t worry, it’s probably not that big of a deal.”

As Asahi said that, she ignored Yuuto’s advice and spun the handle as hard as she could. And….


“Ew, that’s disgusting.”

“…I don’t want to hear that from you.”

Asahi was sitting on a bench in the amusement park, her face turning a little green. In case you were wondering, Yuuto was also quite dizzy and seemed to wobble a bit when distracted, but he pretended to be unconcerned so he wouldn’t show his uncool appearance to Asahi. And then,

“I’m gonna get us some drinks, so sit tight for a bit.”

“…Yeah, thanks.”

Asahi looked up and laughed as she said this. Seeing this, Yuuto turned his back to Asahi and went to find a vending machine.

“I’m a bit late.”

Yuuto said as he walked back. In addition to the fact that it took him an unexpected amount of time to find a vending machine, combined with the fact that he felt even worse after walking around and unintentionally drank the juice on the spot after buying it, more than ten minutes had passed since he and Asahi parted ways.

However, it made him feel much better. He thought to himself. “I can go back to Asahi with peace of mind.”

“Oh, Asahi is right… here.”

From a distance, Yuuto watched Asahi, who was sitting on a bench, being spoken to by two men with blonde and brown hair. He couldn’t hear what they were saying, but he could clearly see that Asahi was uncomfortable.

When he understand that Asahi was being hit on, Yuuto immediately ran to her side, and grabbed her hand.

“Ah, Yuuto.”

Asahi smiled as if reassured when she realized that the person who had held her hand was Yuuto.

“What do you need from my girlfriend?”

Yuuto turned his sharp gaze to the men and said this in a low voice.

“Damnit, she has a boyfriend.”

The man with the brown hair put his hand to his forehead and said so.

“If she has a girlfriend it’s fine. Come on. Let’s move on.”

The blond man said, not seeming particularly disappointed.

“Right. So long, you couple. Sorry for interrupting you, I wish you the best of luck.”

Finally, when the brown-haired man told them so, the two men immediately turned and left. Without thinking, Yuuto involuntarily jumped out of the way, but he was relieved that the other party was listening.

“Um, well, thanks, Yuuto… for helping me out.”

Asahi looked down a bit and thanked him with a look of embarrassment on her face.

“No, I’m the one to blame, for leaving you alone. You’re just plain cute. I should have expected this to happen.”

“Yuuto thinks I’m cute. Hehe.”

Asahi laughed, a little embarrassed.

“No, it’s just an objective view, not my opinion.”

“Well, if you say so, I’ll leave it at that.”

Asahi cut off her words once he said that.

“By the way, how long do you plan to hold my hand, Yuuto?”

When Asahi told him that, Yuuto looked at his hand and saw his right hand grabbing her small hand and not letting go.

“Sorry.”

With that, Yuuto tried to let go of her hand. But Asahi refused to let go, and entwined her fingers in his, squeezing his hand back.

“Hey, Asahi!”

Yuuto got surprised and raised his voice.

“You’re in too much of a hurry. Besides, it’s better to avoid being picked up. I don’t want to meet someone like that anymore.”

“…Well, just for today.”

“You did it yesterday, though. But thanks. You’re so sweet.”

“No, not at all.”

Yuuto, however, denied her words.

“No, you’re very kind. I’m the closest person to you, so I understand. But I want you to live more selfishly.”

“…What do you mean by that?”

“Eh, I didn’t say anything hard to understand. But to put it painly,”

Asahi cut off her words.

“I wish Yuuto would say whatever he wants to say and do, and I wish he’d say it clearly to me. I understand why you’re being nice to me, but don’t hold back. And I’ve said before that I have some idea of what you’re thinking. But even so, I can’t understand your feelings if you don’t say it out loud.”

“You make it sound like you’re saying it for me. But in the end, it’s just your selfishness.”

“You’re right, that’s part of it. But it’s true that I want you to live more freely. I’m sure you’ll find that you’re actually meaner and more foul-mouthed. To be honest, the current silent, honor student vibe doesn’t suit you.”

“…You’re not afraid to say what you want. You’re pretty as hell, but you’re short and floppy.”

“Mmmmm, I feel somewhat complicated after being put down after being praised. But whatever, I prefer the current Yuuto. It pisses me off at times, but since we’re childhood friends, I’d like to talk to each other more openly and without reservation.”

“…Well I see. I guess so. We’ve known each other since we were born, both the good and the bad of each other. There’s no need to latch on to someone like that.”

“So tell me what you’re honestly thinking right now, Yuuto.”

“…Yeah, I guess. Okay, Asahi!”

“What is it, Yuuto?”

“Let’s have a good time today. We’ve come all the way out here. I want to play as hard as I can.”

“Sure. But, phew.”

“What?”

“It’s nothing. Just that Yuuto’s sudden increase in intensity was amusing. If you act like that in class, you’ll be popular, won’t you?”

Asahi smiled and said so.

“Don’t be silly. Even if a shady character like me did that, people would just look at me weird. Besides, I can’t act like this in front of anyone but you, it’s too embarrassing.”

“It’s not acting, it’s who you are. It’s better for you to be you.”

“Okay, okay. Even though we have a lot more time than yesterday, a day won’t last long if we’re just taking it easy.”

“Yeah.”

And so, they resumed their walk through the amusement park, hand in hand, in search of new pleasures.

2 thoughts on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 19

  1. I really do wonder if people get hit on by strangers as often as it is in the anime industry stories in Japan itself… that’s a mouthful sorry but yee, thanks for the chapter ^ – ^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started