I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 15

Title: Morning Joke

Since it was still in the middle of Golden Week, Yuuto Yamashita stayed up late watching videos on the internet.

After eleven 0’clock, when it was almost noon, he finally woke up.

“I was going to go with Asahi to the station today. Even though there’s still time, I’ll have to hurry.”

After saying that, Yuuto changed into the slightly more stylish clothes he had prepared yesterday and went downstairs.

“Ah, good morning, Yuuto. You were late getting up today, weren’t you? Did you stay up late last night by any change?”

Naturally, Asahi Watanabe was there. Asahi was sitting on the sofa in front of the TV.

Asahi was lazily watching one of the anime she had recorded during the weekday while eating some chocolate and sipping a soda that she had poured into a cup.

[T/N: The raws say that Yuuto does this, but this is most likely a typo]

“I’ve been thinking about it for a while. Maybe you’re under the wrong impression that this house is your house?”

“Hmmm? Why?”

“Because you’re probably more relaxed in this house than anyone else. No matter how long we’ve known each other since childhood, I’d normally think you’d be a little more reserved if you went to another house.”

“…Well, that’s true if you think about it. But outside of home and school, I spend most of the day here. If you think about it that way, you could say that this house is my second home.”

“That’s not good. I mean, don’t tell your mother that. It’ll never amount to anything good.”

“I know, I know. If I say that, you’re going to tell me to hurry up and become your bride. Although I don’t mind.”

“…Speaking of which, isn’t your mother around?”

Not daring to mention Asahi’s words, Yuuto changed the topic.

“Yeah, she’s out now. When I came over, she went to buy lunch and would be back before twelve, so she asked me to stay until then.”

“Yeah, sorry to bother you.”

“It’s fine. When I say I’m going to stay, I’m probably just going to hang out like this, watch cartoons, eat snacks, and drink juice.”

“Well, I hate to admit it, but when you get that familiar with it, I think I can understand why you called this your second home. I mean, you eat and drink quite a bit, but do you eat lunch properly?”

“Yeah, I’m fine. Snacks are extra.”

Asahi then picked up another piece of chocolate and threw it into her mouth.

“You’ve got a useful stomach, you know.”

Yuuto sat next to Asahi, who was relaxing on the sofa, as he said this.

“It’s certainly true in a sense that it doesn’t make you fat. But because of that, I don’t grow taller, so it’s not always a good thing.”

Asahi said with a wry smile.

“It doesn’t matter, does it? Sure, you might be a little smaller than the other girls, but the shortness of a girl isn’t as complex as it is for boys. In fact, I think it’s normal to look more attractive when you’re short.”

Yuuto followed up with that.

“Hmmm, I see. Hey, I think so too, Yuuto.”

“What?”

“So do I look prettier when I’m short?”

“Well, I think the average boy would find a petite, bright, and energetic girl attractive.”

“I don’t care what other boys think, just tell me what you think, Yuuto.”

Asahi didn’t like Yuuto’s answer. So,

“Well, I guess so. I think you look good at your height, you know. You’re just so cute like a little animal.”

As Yuuto said this, he brought his right hand to the top of Asahi’s head. With his hand, he began to gently stroke Asahi’s head.

“Mou~, you’re fooling me again. But if you like it, then it’s fine.”

“I think Asahi should stay the way you are.”

“Un. Besides, it’s more convenient for Yuuto to be as tall as you are now, right?”

“Hmm? What?”

“It’s for patting my head. We’re both sitting down, though, you’re pushing yourself a bit too hard. But if we do it standing up, a height difference of about ours would be just fine, right?”

“That’s true too. You’ll definitely have to stay at your height so I don’t get cramps.”

“If you push yourself a little too hard and get a sore by patting my head, you’d be too poorly built. Besides, I can’t control my height by will, so I don’t know what will happen.”

“You’ll be fine. It seems like you’ve always been a slow-growing type of person. I don’t think it would be possible for you to suddenly grow so fast, unless it’s a miracle.”

“Mmm, I thought that myself, though. You don’t have to say it that honestly to the person in question. Yuuto’s mean.”

“Haha, my bad.”

“If you feel bad about it, you need to pat me on the head more.”

“I am right now.”

“It’s rougher than usual, so be more careful.”

“I can’t help it. It’s hard to do in this situation.”

“Muuu, the nerve of Yuuto.”

“Why?”

“…I’m right here, you guys.”

“”Eh?””

Suddenly, they heard a voice behind them and looked back. Yuuto’s mom was looking at them with a shopping bag in hand and with a frightened expression.

“Oh, Aunt. Welcome home.”

However, even though Yuuto’s mom was able to watch such a scene, she was not particularly upset by it. It was probably nothing compared to the last time they were seen on the verge of kissing.

“I’m home. Asahi-chan, thank you for taking care of things.”

“No, it’s nothing. Yuuto, don’t stop petting me.”

“No, my mom’s right there. I can’t just let it go on any longer.”

“Yes, yes. I’m sorry for interrupting you two. I’ll be over there preparing lunch, so come over when you’re finished.”

Yuuto’s mother then turned her back on them and walked towards the kitchen.

“Now, Yuuto, since we’ve gotten Aunt’s permission, I need you to keep it up.”

“…Well, it’s just a matter of time. But only until lunch is ready. We have an appointment with Hiroki and Fujimiya-san, so we can’t just sit back and relax.”

“Yes sir.”

After that, Yuuto did as promised. He kept stroking Asahi’s head until lunch was finished.

Unusually, Yuuto’s father woke up before noon as well, and the four of them ate lunch together.

They both rode their bicycles to the train station, which was a short distance from their houses, where they had arranged to meet up with Hiroki Morikawa and Suzuka Fujimiya.

2 thoughts on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 15

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started