I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 13

Title: Task

It’s Saturday afternoon. Asahi Watanabe, Hiroki Morikawa and Suzuka Fujimiya were at the Yamashita house. The four of them, which includes Yuuto, were sitting on the tatami mats around the desk in the guest room, and each of them were finishing up the assignments that had been given to them before Golden Week.

[T/N: Switched the orders of names to given name then surname because it’ll probably just flow better in English just in general]

“Hey, Suzuka-chan. Tell me the answer here.”

Asahi said that to Suzuka, who was sitting next to her.

“It’s no good for you to just ask for the answer. I’ll teach you how to solve the problem, but you need to figure out the answer on your own.”

“Okay.”

Suzuka seemed to be reluctantly convinced. It wasn’t clear whether they were friends of the same age, or rather a firm elder sister and selfish little sister.

Although she was still a high school sophomore, Suzuka Fujimiya’s style and face were mature enough to seem like she was a college student or even a member of society, and she had a calm demeanor.

In contrast, Asahi, was small in stature and had a straightforward personality that speaks her mind. It wasn’t unreasonable to get that kind of impression from her.

(…I wonder if she understands it.)

Yuuto thought such a thing. Suzuka explained to Asahi in a simple-to-understand way what was troubling her. However,

“Ummm, I don’t understand it!”

“Are you going to listen to me properly?”

Suzuka had a dumbfounded look.

“I have, but I’ve been working so hard for two hours. I’ve already lost my focus.”

The others seemed to generally agree with her on that, and there wasn’t anything in particular to complain about, so,

“Well, I suppose that’s just as well. I have no problem continuing on for a bit longer, but the boys seem to be a bit tired, so I think we should take a break.”

When Suzuka said that, the air in the room, which had been a little tense, suddenly relaxed.

“Finally, a break!! Yuuto, can I grab some snacks or something?” (Asahi)

“Okay, but you’re a guest today, so just sit back and wait, okay?”

“No, that’s okay. It would be hard to carry enough for four people by yourself, so I’ll help you.”

“Well, it’s convenient that you know where things are in my house, so I’ll trouble you.”

“Yeah, I’m on it.”

With that, they headed to the living room to get a snack. And when they weren’t visible anymore,

“I don’t know how many times I’ve said this already, but I don’t know why they aren’t going out yet.” (Suzuka)

“That’s what I want to know. But you’re going to work hard this Golden Week to get them together, right?” (Hiroki)

“Yes, though I’m a little nervous about it because of Morikawa-kun’s lack of cooperation.”

“I’m sorry about that. But I’m rooting for you too, so good luck.”

“You don’t have to tell me that. It’s Asahi that’s doing the hard work. I’m just here to give some advice.”

“That’s fine, then. To be frank, those two are going to be stuck at this distance forever without some intervention.”

“You know that, but you’re not going to do anything about it.”

“Well, I’ve tried in the past, too, but they didn’t work out for me then. So I hope it works out this time.”

“That being said, I’m very nervous. It looks like Asahi is serious about it this time, so I’ll do all I can to help.”

“I see. It’s just that those two can be quite stubborn, despite how they look, so I’m honestly quite worried about them. Well, I’m sure you’ll take care of it. I’ll be rooting for both of them.”

“Well, I feel the same way, so let’s just leave it at that.”

As soon as Suzuka finished saying that, they came back.

“Here you are. What were you guys talking about?” (Asahi)

“Nothing much. Can I have the five chocolates on the tray you’re holding?” (Suzuka)

“Sure. Suzuka-chan has a sweet tooth, as usual.”

“When you use your head, your brain craves sugar.”

“Ehh? That’s not true at all. The last time we went to a cafe, Suzuka-chan asked for an absurdly large parfait. I wouldn’t be able to eat a parfait that big.”

“You can’t blame me. You were consulting me that time, so I had to use my head even more than usual. And even then, Asahi, when we go out to eat, you always have to have dessert after the meal.”

“Come on. I like it.”

“In that case, so do I. But yes… if you have a sweet tooth, maybe the two of us should go on a sweets tour sometime.”

“Oh, sounds great. But I’m booked during Golden Week, so maybe later.”

“I know. It’s time for you to do your best, Asahi.”

“…Yeah, I guess so.”

“What are you working on?” (Yuuto)

“It’s nothing. For that matter, Yuuto, there was a problem I didn’t understand earlier, so tell me about it.” (Asahi)

Asahi was facing Yuuto from across the desk.

“I don’t mind, but wouldn’t it be better to ask Fujimiya-san instead? She’s got better grades than I do.”

“I’m busy taking in some sugar right now. I’m sorry, Yamashita-kun, but you’ll have to deal with Asahi.” (Suzuka)

“And that’s that, Yuuto.” (Asahi)

“Okay, okay. So, Asahi, what part of this did you not understand?” (Yuuto)

“Well, it’s right here.” (Asahi)

With that said, Asahi came and sat down next to Yuuto.

“Hey, Asahi.”

“What?”

“Isn’t this a little close?”

Asahi was usually quite close to Yuuto whenever she was at his house. Even so, they kept a distance where they wouldn’t bump into each other.

However, Asahi was now sitting so close to Yuuto that their shoulders touched. On top of that, she had her head on Yuuto’s shoulder and was lightly leaning on him.

“Why not? I find this spot comfortable.” (Asahi)

“You just sat over there and studied normally.” (Yuuto)

“That’s natural. I can’t just lean on Suzuka-chan.”

“And you can lean on me?”

“Why not? We’ve known each other since we were kids.”

“Just because we’ve known each other since childhood doesn’t mean you can do anything.”

“But this is fine. It doesn’t seem like you’re unwilling to do so.”

“…Based on what?”

“There’s no evidence for it. But when we’ve known each other for so long, I have an idea of what you’re thinking.”

“I don’t see how that’s possible… or maybe it is. I have an idea of what you might think.”

“That’s right. Fufu~ it makes me happy that you do.”

Asahi said that with a smile.

“Well, if we’ve been together for more than ten years, you’ll know. I don’t really care about that every time I think about it.”

Yuuto turned away as he said so.

“You’re not going to be able to get away with that. You can’t deceive my eyes with a lie like that.”

“No, that’s what I meant. I said so earlier, but you still don’t seem to be able to read my mind.”

“That’s not true. Yuuto is actually really happy, but you’re just embarrassed to say it, right?”

“No, I’m really not happy about it.”

“Have you ever admitted to honestly being happy?”

“I’m not happy.”

“You’re happy.”

“I’m not happy.”

“You’re happy.”

“I’m not happy.”

“You’re happy.”

“I’m not happy.”

“…Hey, guys. Did you forget that we’re here?” (Hiroki)

As they were having an interesting exchange, Hiroki called out to them with a dumbfounded look on his face.

“Yeah. It’s good that you’re close, but you need to fix that habit where you can’t see the people around you when you start flirting.” (Suzuka)

Suzuka also said something like that.

“Flirting isn’t that big of a deal. This skinship is normal for us.” (Asahi)

Asahi didn’t seem at all embarrassed to say that.

“Do you really mean it?”

Hearing those words, Suzuka looked a little suprised.

“That’s right. When we’re at school, of course, I wouldn’t do it because it would stand out. If it’s at home, we’d be doing this level of communication all the time.” (Yuuto)

Yuuto also said that without any hesitation.

(No matter how you look at it, they’re just like a married couple. Wouldn’t it be better for both of you to fix your values before you become lovers? I’m scared to imagine what it would be like when they start going out when it’s already like this.)

Hiroki thought to himself.

After that, the four of them spent the rest of the day together.

They spent the day doing homework, with a moderate break in between, until 18:00 (6:00 PM). However, they didn’t get as much homework as expected.

Yuuto was able to complete nearly 80% of his homework in one day, thanks to the fact that he was able to focus reasonably well. On the one hand, he were happy, but on the other, he had quite a bit more time to kill tomorrow.

One thought on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 13

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started