I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 17

Title: Interaction Corner

“Fufu, I knew he was cute.”

Asahi said with a big smile on her face. Currently, Yuuto and Asahi were at the interaction corner, which, as the name suggests, was a corner where they could touch the animals.

Asahi was holding one of the rabbits in her arms and smiling with a heartfelt, happy smile.

“Hey, Asahi, I know you’re happy, but calm down. We’re going to be out here for a while, so brace yourself a bit.”

Yuuto, who had been watching the scene up close and personal as he faced Asahi, calmly prodded at her.

But contrary to his words, Yuuto was fawning over the sight of Asahi holding a rabbit and smiling innocently.

At the zoo where he was supposed to have come to be healed, Yuuto was alone in his anguished state of mind.

“You wouldn’t be saying that if you touch this fluffy fur. Go ahead, Yuuto.”

As Asahi said that, she handed the rabbit in her hand directly to Yuuto. Seeing this, Yuuto received the rabbit from Asahi.

“Hmm. How is it? Isn’t she pretty?”

Asahi said and gently stroked the head of the rabbit that Yuuto was holding.

“…Well, I think it’s cute.”

“Hehe, I know!”

However, the cute thing Yuuto was referring to wasn’t directed at the rabbit he was holding.

The words were directed at Asahi, who was making a smug face in front of him, but Asahi naturally did not notice, and continued smiling innocently.

As for Yuuto, what he just said cleared away some of the confusion that had been building up in his mind, so he was able to calm himself down a bit

After that, Yuuto pet the rabbit for a little while, then returned the rabbit to Asahi. Asahi also doted on the rabbit after that, and both of them left the Interaction Corner, satisfied.

“Phew, that was comforting.”

“That’s good to hear.”

Hearing Asahi’s words, Yuuto said that. Just being able to see Asahi smile made Yuuto glad he came here today. However, he would never say this aloud.

“Then let’s go where you want to go next time, like we promised.”

“Maybe the animal I want to see most isn’t here, though?”

“It’s gonna be a Shiba Inu. Of course there isn’t one here. If you want to see one, don’t go to the zoo, go to the local pet store.”

In case you were wondering, Asahi’s favorite animal was a kitten.

“Well, that’s true. So, Asahi, I want to spend the rest of our time leisurely going around to the spots we haven’t been to yet, is that okay?”

“Yeah, if Yuuto wants to do that, it’s fine.”

“Well, thanks, Asahi.”

“That should be my line. Yuuto went along with my selfishness. So, where’s the closest spot we haven’t seen?”

“Um, hold on.”

Yuuto took out the pamphlet he had put away in his bag.

“The closest place we haven’t gone to is the reptile section. There are turtles, crocodiles, and some snakes that you wouldn’t like.”

“…Let’s skip this area and go to the next closest one.”

Hearing Yuuto’s words, Asahi, who had been in a good mood a moment ago, suddenly became less excited and said that with a bitter smile.

“Sure. Well, it’s gonna take us a long way, but let’s go to the wildlife section. After those cute rabbits, let’s go see some cool animals like tigers and lions next.”

“Un.”

“With that, they headed to the beast corner.”

“That’s Morikawa-kun, isn’t it?”

“Yeah.”

When they reached the wildlife section, they found Hiroki in the crowd, watching the lion quietly by himself. However, he had been watching the cage the whole time and didn’t seem to notice the two of them, so they went to talk to him.

“Hey, Hiroki.”

“Hmm? Oh, look who it is. It’s Yuuto and Yamashita-san. Could it be that they two of you went together after that?”

[T/N: Again, he called Asahi ‘Yamashita-san’, which he did once before in the early chapters. Based on this chapter, I’m pretty sure this is normal and the two of them have gotten used to his teasing.]

Hiroki asked.

“Yeah. Yuuto really wanted to go with me, so I had no choice.”

“Don’t lie. You asked me to come with.”

“Uh, right.”

“Hey.”

“Yes, yes, good to see you guys are still so close.”

Watching their exchange, Hiroki had a dumbfounded look on his face.

“Well, let’s put our affairs aside for now. Morikawa-kun, were you watching the lion all this time?”

“Not all the time. But I’ve been here for quite a while.”

“Is that so? You like lions, don’t you, Morikawa-kun?”

“I’ve never thought about it. If you ask me, I guess I do. They’re strong and cool, so I’m quite fond of them.”

Hiroki said as he looked at the lion. They did the same and looked at the lion in the cage.

“…It’s asleep.”

“Aren’t you sad you couldn’t see him moving?”

Asahi asked that after Yuuto.

“Well, that’s a shame, I guess. I’m just lucky that I got to see one. You don’t get to see a lion sleeping often.” (Hiroki)

“Well, yeah. There’s a lot of lions on TV and stuff, but they’re always up and moving.” (Yuuto)

“Yeah. And a sleeping lion is kind of cute.”

Asahi said, then squinted a bit to see the lion in the cage.

“Yeah, I think so too.” (Yuuto)

“A normally dignified and cool guy who occasionally shows a vulnerable side? It’s true that there’s a nice gap between those kinds of things.”

Hiroki said this, and the three of them stood side by side, watching the lion nap for a while.

“It’s not getting up at all. Well, it’s such a nice day, so I can understand why it’d want to enjoy a nap.”

Hiroki said that with a wry smile as he watched the lion that showed no signs of waking up.

“So, what do you two plan to do with the rest of your time? I’m still going to be here, hoping this guy will wake up.”

Hiroki asked as he watched the lion.

“What do you want to do, Yuuto?”

“You want me to decide?”

“Yeah, I told you earlier. I’m gonna stay with you for the rest of the time, Yuuto.”

When Asahi told him that, Yuuto glanced at the time on his phone and thought for a moment.

“We can go to all of the areas in the time we have left. We’ve got more time than I thought, so if he hurry a bit, we’ll hit all the spots.”

“Okay. If that’s what you want to do, I’m fine with it.”

Hearing Yuuto’s words, Asahi nodded in agreement.

“I see. Then I guess we’ll say goodbye here.” (Hiroki)

“Yuuto and Yamashita-san. You don’t get a chance to come to a place like this often, so make sure you enjoy the rest of your time.” (Still Hiroki)

“Yeah, you have fun too.”

“Haha, then just hope that this lion wakes up.”

“Ok, see you later, Hiroki.”

“See you later, Morikawa-kun.”

“Yeah, see you guys later.”

With that, they parted ways with Hiroki once more.

After that, they quickly went around to the rest of the sections.

“The only thing left is the reptile section.”

“Ugh.”

Hearing Yuuto’s words, Asahi made a blatantly disgusted face.

“Isn’t it fine to go separately? It’s almost time to go, Yuuto.”

Asahi said so.

“I see. Well, let’s go anyways. My goal for today is too go to all of the areas.”

“…Yuuto’s a meanie.”

Asahi puffed out her cheeks and looked away from Yuuto as she said that.

“It’s fine. I really want to go around to all the areas, but if you really don’t like it Asahi, you don’t have to go. We came here to enjoy our time, and it wouldn’t be good to end on a bad experience, so I’ll just go on my own.”

“Nope, I’m going with you. I don’t want to come here and not see everything because I’ll regret it later. But since I’m afraid, would you do me a favor?”

As Asahi said this, she told him her one request.

One thought on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 17

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started