I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 10

T/N: Not gonna lie, I forgot to TL earlier today. My bad.


Title: Watanabe Asahi Starts To Move

Yamashita Yuuto was engulfed by the spring sunshine and was enjoying comfortable sleep. Then,

“Hey, Yuuto, it’s morning. Wake up!”

In a quiet place with no noise. A very familiar and, to him, comforting voice.

(…That’s funny, I can hear Asahi. There’s no way she’s here right now.)

Yuuto thought about it for a moment and concluded that this must be a dream. Since he still couldn’t hear the alarm clock, he tried to go back to sleep.

“Yuuto! You won’t be able to go to school if you sleep any longer! So get it early!”

As soon as he heard that, all the warmth enveloping Yuuto was suddenly removed.

“It’s cold! What?” (Yuuto)

After saying that, Yuuto slowly opened his eyes. In front of Yuuto’s eyes, there was Asahi in her uniform, holding the blanket he was under.

“…..What are you doing Asahi?” (Yuuto)

“What? I’m here to wake you up.” (Asahi)

Asahi said this with a smile.

“I’ll wait for you downstairs. Yuuto, hurry up and get dressed and come down.”

Asahi went downstairs.

“….It seems like she’s getting strangely close lately.” (Yuuto)

With that, Yuuto got out of bed and began to change into his uniform.


Later, when Yuuto finished dressing, he went downstairs to the living room. Asahi was sitting on a chair and eating breakfast with Yuuto’s parents.

“Oh Yuuto-kun, you woke up unusually early today.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

Then Yuuto’s mother said that to him.

“Yeah. You’re usually up after I leave the house.” (Yuuto’s Dad)

Following that, Yuuto’s father, who was drinking coffee and reading the news paper, also said something like that.

“Un. I really wanted to sleep a little longer, but Asahi forced me to wake up.” (Yuuto)

“Mm, Yuuto. Isn’t that a bit harsh to say after I woke you up?” (Asahi)

Asahi sounded anxious.

“That’s right, Yuuto, you’re indebted to Asahi-chan even more than usual. You should be more grateful to Asahi-chan.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

“You’re right. It’s hard to believe that Asahi-chan is a high school student, because you can do housework and cook perfectly. Plus, thank you so much for taking care of our sloppy Yuuto.” (Yuuto’s Dad)

Yuuto’s father also told Asahi that. Yuuto’s parents loved Asahi, and there was a part of them that cared for her more than their own soon. [T/N: RIP]

As for Yuuto, it’s not that he thinks badly of the fact that his parents and Asahi are on good terms. He doesn’t mind being treated roughly.

“Oh, don’t worry. I don’t mind doing housework and cooking, and I’m not averse to taking care of Yuuto, either.” (Asahi)

When Asahi said that, Yuuto’s mother’s attitude changed.

“Really, Asahi-chan is a good girl! You’re really lucky to have such a nice girl as your childhood friend, Yuuto-kun.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

“Right. I don’t have anything bad to say about it, Yuuto, so get Asahi-chan to take care of you as soon as possible. As long as Asahi-chan supports you, I can send you into the rough waters of society without a care in the world.” (Yuuto’s Dad)

”That’s true, I wouldn’t have any worries either, Asahi-chan. However, if this is the case, then you need to work harder, Yuuto. The current Yuuto-kun is totally out of proportion to Asahi-chan.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

“It’s none of your business.” (Yuuto)

“Haha…..”

 Because of the fact that Yuuto’s parents were too fond of Asahi, they would occasionally go out of control like this.

 This is the only thing Yuuto can’t do something about, and he worries about it day in and day out.


“Thank you for breakfast, Auntie!” (Asahi)

“It’s no big deal. You can come back anytime.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

“Hai, I’m off.” (Asahi)

“…I’m going.” (Yuuto)

“Have a good day.” (Yuuto’s Mum)

After that, Asahi and Yuuto finished eating breakfast together. First, after Yuuto’s father left the house, a little while later, Yuuto and Asahi also left the house. And, when Yuuto closed the door,

“So, why did you come to my house today?” (Yuuto)

“It’s just, I had something I wanted to give you today.” (Asahi)

“Is that what you want to give me?” (Yuuto)

“Yeah!” (Asahi)

As Asahi said this, she emptied his bag and took out a single furoshiki. [T/N: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furoshiki]

“Here, Yuuto, that’s for today.” (Asahi)

Saying that, Asahi offered it to Yuuto.

“A bento? Yesterday’s was enough of an apology.” (Yuuto)

Asahi began to speak, shaking her head.

“Sure, yesterday’s bento was an apology. But today’s is different.” (Asahi)

“What?” (Yuuto)

“It’s simple. I woke up early yesterday for the first time in a long time and made the bento. I realized once again that I like to cook. I have a lot of time on my hands now, so I just thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to make a bento for a while.” (Asahi)

“Right. But why bother making one for me?” (Yuuto)

“You don’t understand, Yuuto. It’s not easy to stay motivated when you only cook for yourself. But when it’s for someone else, you feel like you have to do your best, and you can continue to wake up early, which is difficult. If someone says something to me after eating it, I’m so happy and I feel like I want to make something delicious again tomorrow.” (Asahi)

When she said that, Asahi took a breath.

“So, Yuuto, if you don’t mind, I hope you’ll continue to eat the bentos I make for you from now on. But if you want to eat the bread from the store rather than my cooking, I won’t be making it anymore from tomorrow.” (Asahi)

”That’s not true. I’m happy to eat your home-cooked food, and if that’s what keeps you motivated, you can use me as much as you want.” (Yuuto)

Yuuto accepted Asahi’s bento.

“Yuuto, um, thank you!” (Asahi)

“Aside from that, I’m going to school early. It’s faster than usual, but I can’t be too relaxed.” (Yuuto)

“Yeah, you’re right.” (Asahi)

So, each of them went to the garage for their bicycles.


T/N: Asahi, you crafty woman, you.

One thought on “I Want To Confess To My Childhood Friend Chapter 10

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started